Lok Sabha Phase 3 highlights: Overall voter turnout recorded at 66%

Voting for Lok Sabha polls 2019 phase 3 voting will decide the fate of 1,640 candidates. Catch India General elections 2019 live updates

Lok Sabha Election 2019  |  Election 2019  |  Bjp

BS Web Team 


LIVE updates: Voting in as many as 117 Lok Sabha constituencies took place across 14 states and Union Territories in Phase 3 of the 2019 general election. The third phase of the Lok Sabha polls saw an increase in polling till 5 p.m., with West Bengal registering the highest turnout of 78.94 per cent, and Anantnag in Jammu and Kashmir the lowest of 12.46 per cent. Over 64 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the third phase of Lok Sabha polls on Tuesday, the Election Commission said.

In the third phase, voting was held in 116 Lok Sabha seats, including all constituencies in Gujarat and Kerala, with president Amit Shah, chief and several Union ministers among prominent candidates in the fray..

According to the Election Commission (EC), the estimated turnout at 5 p.m. was 74.05 per cent for Assam, Bihar (54.95 per cent), Goa (70.96 per cent), Gujarat (58.81 per cent), Karnataka (60.87 per cent), Kerala (68.62 per cent), Maharashtra (55.05 per cent), Odisha (57.84 per cent), Tripura (71.13 per cent), Uttar Pradesh (56.36 per cent), Chhattisgarh (64.03 per cent), Dadra and Nagar Haveli (71.43 per cent) and Daman and Diu (65.34 per cent).
Amid complaints of EVM glitches, moderate polling was recorded in the first two hours of voting in 116 Lok Sabha seats, including all constituencies of Gujarat and Kerala, in which president Amit Shah, chief and several Union ministers are in the fray. As the polling began, Prime Minister cast his vote at a booth in Ahmedabad and said the "voter ID" (identity card) was much more powerful than the "IED" (improvised explosive device) of terrorists.

President Amit Shah, who is contesting the Lok Sabha election from Gandhinagar seat in Gujarat, also cast his vote at a polling booth in Ahmedabad.

Other key candidates include Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav, who is contesting from Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh and Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) president Shivpal Singh Yadav from Firozabad. Supriya Sule, Nationalist Party (NCP) president Sharad Pawar's daughter, is contesting from Baramati in Maharashtra. In Bihar, Adhikar Party-Loktantrik (JAP-L) chief Pappu Yadav is taking on RJD's Sharad Yadav in Madhepura. Puri is witnessing a triangular fight between BJD's Pinaki Mishra, BJP's Sambit Patra and Congress's Satya Prakash Nayak.


Auto Refresh