You are here: Home » International » News » Others
Business Standard

2018 Fifa World Cup: Russia-Saudi duel to kick off, tough draw for Germany

Lionel Messi and his Argentina team which struggled to qualify will play World Cup debutants Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria

ANI  |  New York 

fifa world cup
Argentinian soccer legend Diego Maradona, center, waves to the crowd during the 2018 soccer World Cup draw in the Kremlin in Moscow. Photo: PTI

Following a long road of qualifying joy and heartache, the finally got into "game mode" after the Final Draw in Moscow's State Palace.

According to CNN, Hosts will open the event against at Moscow's Luzhniki Stadium on 14 June in Group A, while defending champions were drawn into a tough Group F along with Mexico, and the Korea Republic.

The 2010 World Cup winners were placed in the same group as Cristiano Ronaldo's European champions Portugal, while will face talented Belgium side at the World Cup.

Meanwhile, and his team which struggled to qualify will play World Cup debutants Iceland as well as Croatia and

Five-time champions will play against in Rostov and has further pairings with Costa Rica and Serbia.

The French team and their potent strike force of Antoine Griezmann will play Australia, Peru and in Group C.

The tournament that spans 11 cities and 12 stadiums will kick off when host nation take on on June 14 in Moscow's Luzhniki Stadium.

The Final Draw ceremony took place inside the walls of the with Gary Lineker hosting and an array of high-profile names on hand to assist with the draw.

The ceremony had Legends of the game representing the eight previous World Cup-winning nations, which included Brazil's Cafu, Italy's Fabio Cannavaro, Uruguay's Diego Forlan, Germany's Miroslav Klose, Argentina's Diego and Spain's Carles Puyol.

Here are the final groups -

Group A: Russia, Uruguay, Egypt and Saudi Arabia

Group B: Spain, Portugal and Iran and Morocco

Group C: France, Peru and and Australia

Group D: Argentina, Croatia, Iceland, and Nigeria

Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia

Group F: Germany, Mexico, and South Korea

Group G: Belgium, England, Tunisia and Panama

Group H: Poland, Colombia, Senegal and Japan.

First Published: Sat, December 02 2017. 15:25 IST