Business Standard

Harmanpreet Kaur to lead India in women's World T20


ANI New Delhi [India]
All-rounder Harmanpreet Kaur will be leading the Indian side in the upcoming 2018 International Cricket Council (ICC) women's World T20 tournament.
Left-hand batter Smriti Mandhana will, on the other hand, will serve as the vice-captain of the team.
While India are placed in Group B along with Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Ireland in the 10-team event, Group A consists of West Indies, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and England.
The tournament will kick off with the Group B match between India and New Zealand in Guyana.
India's second clash in the tournament will be against arch-rivals Pakistan on November 11 at Guyana followed by a match against Ireland on November 15th at the same venue.
The team's last group stage match is against Australia on November 17th at Guyana.
The sixth edition of the prestigious tournament will be held in the West Indies from November 9 to November 24.
Full Indian squad for the tournament is as follows:
India Women's squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Tanya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, D Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Sep 28 2018 | 5:50 PM IST

Explore News