Business Standard

Jhansi: Without Uma Bharti, BJP is likely to witness tough fight


ANI Politics
Jhansi (Uttar Pradesh) [India], Apr 28 (ANI): Jhansi Lok Sabha seat is set to witness a triangular contest between the Congress and its ally Jan Adhikar Party (JAP), SP-BSP-RLD and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).
Jhansi, one of the 13 parliamentary constituencies in Uttar Pradesh going to polls on Monday is currently represented by sitting MP Uma Bharti who had won the seat by a margin of 1,90,467 votes in 2014. However, the BJP has fielded Anurag Sharma to emulate the electoral success of the Union Minister.
Speaking to ANI, Sharma said: "Everyone has a right to contest election in a democracy. But we will get the direct benefit of the works done by the central and state BJP governments."
"For the people of Bundelkhand development is an issue and this is why people are associated with me," he said in response to a question about him being an industrialist.
Shiv Saran Kushwaha, contesting on a Congress ticket said that the fight is between Congress and the BJP and SP-BSP-RLD candidate does not any chance of winning in Jhansi.
"People are supporting the Congress party. We are hopeful that the results will favour us.
Kushwaha is drawing flak since his opponents are terming him as an outsider in Jhansi.
"I am from Bundelkhand and have a connection with Jhansi from my childhood. The people will not listen to them," he said.
The Congress had fielded Pradeep Jain in 2014 Lok Sabha elections where he swept over 6.73 per cent of the total votes polled in the constituency.
From SP-BSP-RLD, Shyam Sundar Singh is in the poll fray in Jhansi.
In Jhansi, the BJP had registered victories in 1989, 1991, 1996 and 1998 while the Congress had won in 1952, 1957, 1962, 1967, 1971, 1980, 1984, 1999 and 2009. The Samajwadi Party also pulled off a victory in 2004.
Apart from Jhansi, Lok Sabha seats of Shahjahanpur (SC), Kheri, Hardoi (SC), Mishrikh (SC), Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah (SC), Kanpur, Akbarpur, Jalaun (SC), Jhansi and Hamirpur will also witness polling on Monday.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Apr 28 2019 | 11:33 PM IST

Explore News