Business Standard

LS Polls: SP announces candidates for Kanpur, Gorakhpur seats


ANI Politics
The Samajwadi Party (SP) on Saturday announced two more candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.
While Ram Kumar will contest from Kanpur, Rambhual Nishad will contest from Gorakhpur in the impending polls.
The announcement comes a day after Nishad Party severed ties with the Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party led 'gathbandhan' in Uttar Pradesh.
Last week, the SP had announced that party chief Akhilesh Yadav will contest from Azamgarh - the parliamentary constituency of his father Mulayam Singh Yadav - while senior SP leader Azam Khan will contest elections from Rampur constituency.
There are 80 Lok Sabha seats at stake in Uttar Pradesh, out of which SP will contest on 37 seats, BSP on 38 and RLD on 3 seats.
Polling in Uttar Pradesh will take place in all seven phases of polling, starting April 11. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Mar 30 2019 | 1:00 PM IST

Explore News