You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

PM Modi's Cabinet: Manohar Parikkar new Defence Minister, Suresh Prabhu gets Railways

ANI  |  New Delhi 

Former Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar is the new Defence Minister and former NDA minister Suresh Prabhu will now head the Railway Ministry, after Prime Minister Narendra Modi led NDA government carried out the first cabinet expansion on Sunday.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley who earlier held the Defence portfolio as an additional charge has now been given the Information and Broadcasting Ministry's additional charge.

J P Nadda, who also took oath as a Cabinet minister on Sunday, gets the portfolio of Health and Family Welfare, which was earlier held by Dr. Harsh Vardhan.

Dr. Harsh Vardhan has been shifted to the Science and Technology and Earth Sciences Ministry which has been stripped off from Dr. Jitendra Singh, who has got Independent charge of Development of North Eastern Region.

Haryana leader Chaudhary Birender Singh is the new Minister for Rural Development, Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water and Sanitation, held by Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari since the death of Gopinath Munde.

D V Sadananda Gowda has been shifted from the Railways Ministry, and made the Law and Justice Minister, relieving Telecom Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad from the charge.

Rajiv Pratap Rudy is the new Minister of State for Skill Development and Entrepreneurship Ministry with Independent Charge. He has also got the charge of Parliamentary Affairs as MoS along with Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

Naqvi is also MoS for Minority Affairs with Najma Heptulla retained as the Cabinet Minister.

Newly inducted Ministers of State with independent charge, Bandaru Dattatray gets the charge of Labour and Employment, while Dr. Mahesh Sharma has been given Culture and Tourism Ministry.

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore will be the Minister of State in the Information and Broadcasting Ministry.

Babul Supriyo Baral is the new MoS in Urban Development ministry while Jayant Sinha is MoS Finance.

Ram Kripal Yadav gets Drinking Water and Sanitation, Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary gets Home Affairs, Sanwar Lal Jat has been given the Water Resources Ministry and Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya Agriculture Ministry.

Giriraj Singh is the new MoS for Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Ministry besides Hansraj Gangaram Ahir getting Chemicals and Fertilizers, Manuskhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava, Tribal Affairs.

Ram Shankar Katheria for Human Resource Development. Y S Chowdary is the new MoS, Science and Technology and Earth Science.

Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti is the new MoS Food Processing Industries and Vijay Sampla, Social Justice and Empowerment Ministry.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi inducted four cabinet ministers, three Ministers of State (Independent Charge) and 14 Ministers of State in his first cabinet expansion on Sunday. Reports say he will hold a meeting with his expanded cabinet in the evening today.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Mon, November 10 2014. 10:01 IST