You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

SAFF C'ship: Women's team coach summons 32 players for preparatory camp

ANI  |  New Delhi [India] 

National women's football team coach Maymol Rocky has summoned a total of 32 players for a training camp which is a part of the preparation for the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship, and also the second round of the AFC Olympic Qualifiers.

The coach said that they are looking for players who are not only technically skilled but aggressive and determined as well.

"We have called up a number of new names. I look forward to seeing what they have to offer to the team. We were looking to bring in players who are not only technically skilled but are also aggressive and determined. We have scouted extensively before zeroing down on the names," she said.

Maymol also thanked All India Football Federation (AIFF) for organising the camp, stating its duration is ideal for the team's preparation.

"This is the first time we are having such a long camp, and with three-and-a-half months of the training period. I feel we can build a strong and cohesive side. I would like to thank the AIFF for their continuous support and long-term vision," she maintained.

The training camp for the women's national team will kick-off in Cuttack on December 28.

The players summoned for the camp are as follows:

Goalkeepers: Aditi Chauhan, M. Linthoingambi Devi, Sowmiya N, Shreya Hooda.

Defenders: Ashalata Devi, Michelle Castanha, Jabamani Tudu, Poly Koley, Dalima Chhibber, Sweety Devi, Lako Bhutia, Phijam Sanathokpi Devi, Pakpi Devi, Poonam Sharma.

Midfielders: Sangita Basfore, Sanju Yadav, Sumithra Kamaraj, Mamta, Grace Lalrampari, Ranjita Devi, Indumathi Kathiresan, Arati Sethi.

Forwards: Pyari Xaxa, Ranjana Chanu, Anju Tamang, Ratanbala Devi, Dangmei Grace, A. Roja Devi, R. Sandhiya Ranganathan, Renu, Manisha, Techi Akung.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, December 29 2018. 17:10 IST