You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Yogi, Mayawati not first politicians to face EC ire

IANS  |  New Delhi 

The ban on (BSP) and UP Minister from campaigning in the elections for 3 days over hate speeches is not the first punitive action by the (EC) against erring politicians.

During the 2014 elections, the poll panel had banned and from holding public meetings or road shows in UP. The EC had also asked authorities to initiate criminal proceedings against them.

The action against Shah in connection with his speech at a rally in riot-hit Muzaffarnagar where he called for "revenge". "You have been treated as second-grade citizens. It is time for revenge now. Batons, guns and swords belong to a bygone era. These days you take revenge by pressing the button," he said.

The action against Khan was taken over his remark that "No Hindu soldier died in the 1999 Kargil war, which was won by Muslim soldiers".

As in the case of and Adityanath, the action against Shah and Khan was taken under Article 324, which gives the EC wide powers to ensure free and fair elections.

But Monday's action against and Adityanath came after the pulled up the poll panel for blatant violation of the model code of conduct.

Welcoming the EC action, constitution expert said it might have come under pressure, realising that the would take harsh view of things on Tuesday, when the case is listed for consideration.

"The EC always had teeth, but unless it showed them no one would fear it. It is a good beginning to set right the wrongs," he told IANS. Given the gravity of the offence, the EC could have barred the two leaders for campaigning from the entire election, he said.

"But this is a signal, just a beginning. It would act as deterrent for others by sending a message that the poll panel can take the most stringent action, if needed, and can even bar violators from campaigning for the whole election," he said.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, April 15 2019. 21:36 IST