You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

150 candidates in fray for 32 Assembly seats in Sikkim

Press Trust of India  |  Gangtok 

Altogether 150 candidates are in fray for 32 Assembly seats in after three nominees withdrew their candidature on Thursday, the last date for withdrawal, Election officials said.

There are 11 candidates in the fray for the lone Lok Sabha seat from Election to both the Lok Sabha seat and Assembly constituencies will be held simultaneously on April 11, they said.

Two candidates Ratan Singh Rai (Republican Party) and Nirmal Kumar Pradhan (Independent) withdrew their names from Namchi-Singhithang assembly constituency, while another candidate (Congress) took back his candidature from Gylashing -Barnyak assembly seat, officials said.

At the end of the withdrawal process, a total of 150 candidates are in fray on 32 Assembly seats.

Pawan Kumar Chamling, HSP working and Chamling"s younger brother are among prominent candidates in fray in the assembly polls.

Chamling, the ruling is contesting from two assembly seats - Poklok-Kamrang and in his native South Sikkim, Bhutia, legendary footballer, is also trying his luck from two assembly constituencies - Gangtok (BL) and Tumen Lingi (B-L) seats in East and South Sikkim respectively.

The 11 candidates in the fray for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Sikkim are Dhiraj Kumar Rai (SRP), D B Katwal (SDF), Mahendra Thapa (Independent) Biraj Adhikari (HSP), Bharat Basnett (INC), Passang Gyali Sherpa (Independent), Sun Maya Gurung, (Independent), Rabin Rai (All Indians Party), Laten Tshering Sherpa (BJP), Indra Hang Subba (SKM) and Narendra Adhikari of SUF (Sikkim United Front).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, March 28 2019. 21:25 IST