You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

21 pc polling till 9 am in Nagaland LS seat

Press Trust of India  |  Kohima 

Polling is in progress for the lone seat in and by-election to Aonglenden assembly constituency.

(CEO) Nagaland, Abhijit Sinha, said 21 per cent turn out has been recorded for the poll and 19 per cent for Aonglenden bypoll till 9 am.

Polling started at 7am and will end at 4pm in both the seats.

Altogether 12,13,777 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise to elect their representaives from among five nominees in the lone seat.

Y Patton cast his vote at his native village in district.

The bypoll to Aonglenden assembly segment is a straight contest between the nominee Alemjongshi Longkumer and Sharingain Longkumer of the ruling NDPP.

The bypoll was necessitated following the death of sitting ruling MLA Imtikumzuk in September last year.

The Aonglenden seat has an electorate of 12,436.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 11 2019. 12:05 IST