Business Standard

Four candidates in fray for lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland


Press Trust of India Kohima
The election to the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland will be a four cornered contest while the by-poll to the Aonglenden Assembly constituency will witness a straight fight between the ruling NDDP and Congress candidates, an Election official said Thursday.
None of the four candidates have withdrawn their nomination for the Lok Sabha election on Thursday, the last date for withdrawal of candidature while two candidates have withdrawn their candidature for the by-poll to state Assembly seat, the official said.
The candidates in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat are

INC nominee K L Chishi, PDA consensus candidate and NDPP nominee Tokheho Yepthomi, NPPs Hayithung Tungoe and Independent Dr M M Thromwa Konyak, he said.
Four candidates Alemjongshi Longkumer of Congress, Sharingain Longkumer of ruling NDPP, Toshipokba Longkumer of NPF and O Tinu Longkumer of NPP had filed nominations for the bypoll to the Aonglendem seat.
District Election Officer and Deputy Commissioner of Mokokchung, Rajesh Soundararajan said NPF candidate Toshipokba and NPP candidate Tinu withdrew their candidature Thursday.
Both Tinu and Toshipokba in separate press statements have said "the PDA government under the leadership of Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton has brought progressive change and development, good governance and stability to the state of Nagaland.
Election to the Lok Sabha seat and also for the Aonglenden Assembly constituency will be held simultaneously on April 11.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Mar 28 2019 | 7:35 PM IST

Explore News