You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

34 Mizoram legislators vote for prez poll till 1.30pm

Press Trust of India  |  Aizawl 

Thirty four legislators in the 40-member Assembly voted for the presidential till 1.30pm today, assistant returning officer for the polls S R Zokhuma said.

Zokhuma told PTI that minister Lalsawta and Assembly Speaker Hiphei were the early voters.

All five MLAs of the opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) and the only representative of People's Conference (MPC) cast their votes.

Chief Minister would cast his vote around 4 pm.

The 34 legislators were expected to support the Congress-led oppositions presidential candidate while the five MNF members were expected to vote in favour of the ruling nominee Ram Nath Kovind.

Meanwhile, MPC Vice President Vanlalhlana said that the lone MPC legislator was authorised by the party high command to exercise his franchise freely.

The value of a vote of each Mizoram legislator is eight.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 16:02 IST