Business Standard

Jharkhand Assembly polls: 61.19% voter turnout recorded in third phase

Amid tight security, 61.19% of 56,18,267 voters exercised their franchise in the 17 seats across eight districts

Jharkhand Assembly Elections

Press Trust of India  |  Ranchi 

Jharkhand Assembly polls

Over 61 per cent voter turnout was recorded on Thursday at the end of third-phase elections, in which 17 assembly seats of Jharkhand went to polls, officials said.

Amid tight security, 61.19 per cent of 56,18,267 voters exercised their franchise in the 17 seats across eight districts, they said.

Police said the polling, which began at 7 am, passed off peacefully.

While polling at Ranchi, Hatia, Kanke, Barkatha and Ramgarh seats ended at 5 pm, voting in rest of the constituencies ended at 3 pm, Election Commission officials said.

The voters comprised 26,80,205 women and 86 third gender persons.

The fate of 309 candidates, including 32 women nominees, was sealed in the EVMs at the polling.

The five-phase assembly elections to the 81-member House began on November 30 and will end on December 20.

Jharkhand Chief Electoral Officer Vinay Kumar Choubey said about 40,000 polling personnel conducted the election.

Of the 7,016 polling stations set up for the third- phase, 1,008 were identified as 'critical' and 543 'sensitive' in Naxal-affected areas.

A total of 1,119 polling stations were 'critical' and 2,672 polling stations were 'sensitive' in other areas.

There were 13,504 ballot units, 8,772 controlling units and 9,123 used, with double ballot units set up in nine constituencies where there were sixteen or more candidates in the fray.

A total of 2,014 polling stations had webcasting facilities.

Officials said 329 model polling stations were set up in the state, while women personnel conducted voting at 44 booths.

The seats where polling was held are Koderma, Barkatha, Barhi, Barkagaon, Ramgarh, Mandu, Hazaribag, Simaria (SC), Dhanwar, Gomia, Bermo, Ichagarh, Silli, Khijri (ST), Ranchi, Hatia and Kanke (SC).

Former chief minister Babulal Marandi, Urban Development Minister C P Singh and Education Minister Neera Yadav were among those in the fray.

While Marandi, the president of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik), contested from Dhanwar seat, Singh and Yadav fought from Ranchi and Koderma constituencies, respectively.

Former deputy chief minister and AJSU Party president Sudesh Mahto tried his luck to regain Silli seat after he had lost the 2014 assembly polls and the subsequent bypoll to JMM candidates Amit Mahato and his wife Seema Mahato, respectively.

The JMM had re-nominated Seema Mahato from the seat.

The first-phase polling for 13 seats and the second- phase for 20 seats took place on November 30 and December 7, respectively.

Fourth-phase polling for 15 seats is scheduled on December 16 and the last phase for 16 seats will be held on December 20.

Votes will be counted on December 23.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Thu, December 12 2019. 19:30 IST