Business Standard

7.92 per cent voting recorded till 9 am in 5 LS seats of Bihar


Press Trust of India Patna
An estimated 7.92 per cent voting was recorded Monday in the first two hours of polling in five Lok Sabha constituencies of Bihar in the fourth phase of general elections, officials said.
A total of 87.74 lakh voters would decide the fate of 66 candidates, including three women nominees, in this phase of polling in 8,834 booths.
Polling is underway in the five Lok Sabha constituencies of Darbhanga, Ujiarpur, Samastipur, Begusarai and Munger.
"Voting has been peaceful with no untoward incident reported from any of these constituencies so far," election officials said.
Polling was, however, briefly hampered at three booths in Munger, two in Darbhanga and three in Begusarai due to glitches in EVMs, which were rectified, they said.
People boycotted voting at a polling station in Rajwara village of Teghra assembly segment in Begusarai lok Sabha constituency, owing to lack of road connectivity, an Election Commission source said.
Prominent candidates in this phase include Union minister Giriraj Singh, Bihar minister Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh and Bihar BJP chief Nityanand Rai.
Elaborate security measures have been put in place to ensure free and fair polling in all the seats, the officials said.
Paramilitary forces, Bihar Military Police and Special Auxiliary Police jawans have been deployed at all the stations across the five seats, along with 16,239 poll personnel, they said, adding, a total of 4,252 micro observers have also been deputed.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Apr 29 2019 | 10:20 AM IST

Explore News