Business Standard

Cabinet ministers vow to give their best in new role


Press Trust of India New Delhi
Parliamentarians, who were sworn-in as cabinet ministers Thursday, have vowed to give their best to take the country's development agenda forward.
Ram Vilas Paswan told reporters that as soon as the portfolios are announced, ministers will share their plans with the media.
"Under Prime Minister Narendra Modi's leadership we will give our best," the Lok Janshakti Party chief said.
Anurag Thankur, who took oath as a minster of state, said he will serve the country "in the best of his capacity".
Dharmendra Pradhan, who helped the BJP make inroads in Odisha, said it is an important development that two ministers have been chosen from the state.
Along with Pradhan, Pratap Sarangi was also inducted into Modi's council of ministers.
"We will give our best in our new role, this will help in taking the country's development agenda forward," he said.
Sarangi said he would give his best in any ministry that is assigned to him.
Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Irani, Nirmala Sitharaman and Prakash Javadekar were among the 36 ministers who were sworn in Thursday for a second term, besides 20 MPs who took oath of office as cabinet ministers for the first time.
While 24 cabinet ministers were sworn-in the Modi government, nine took oath as ministers of state (Independent charge) and 24 others as ministers of state.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: May 30 2019 | 11:35 PM IST

Explore News