You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Campaign for final phase of polls ends in UP

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

The campaign for the remaining 13 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, which will see seeking re-election from Varanasi, ended Friday evening.

Polling in the state on Sunday will also decide the fate of 10 other BJP leaders, including Manoj Sinha, who is seeking re-election from and Bhojpuri Ravi Kishan, who is trying to reclaim the saffron party's

Kishan is in the fray from with its sitting having already switched over to the BJP, which fielded him from Sant Kabir Nagar in the previous phase.

is also seeking re-election from in this phase.

The parliamentary constituencies going to polls in this phase are: Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Deoria, Bansgaon (SC), Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, and (SC).

The final phase of the polls in the state, which have been spread over all the seven phases of the country-wide elections, will also decide the fate of eight candidates of the and five of the

The SP-BSP alliance is being seen as giving a tough fight to the BJP in the state.

The electioneering saw Vadra holding back-to-back roadshows Friday in Kushinagar and and riding a scooter in a two-wheeler rally in Gorkahpur.

Campaigning came to an end at 6 pm.

staged the roadshow in Kushinagar for her party candidate R P N Singh, a in the previous UPA government, following it up with another roadshow in for party candidate

Tripathi is seeking to unseat sitting Anupriya Patel, the of another BJP ally (Sonelal), which is also contesting the (SC) seat.

The party flags of Om Prakash Rajbhar-led were also seen in Priyanka Gandhi's Mirzapur rally. SBSP is a BJP ally in UP and had won four seats in the 2017 UP assembly elections.

The party's Rajbhar is also an minister, but is perceived to be upset with the BJP.

In a bid to brighten Ravi Kishan's chances from his stronghold Gorakhpur, UP addressed an election meeting in the city.

Adityanath had vacated the seat to take charge of the state as its after which it was won by Nishad in a by-election as an SP candidate.

In all, there are 167 candidates in the fray for 13 seats, which will go to polls on May 19. The highest number of 26 candidates in the fray are from -- the parliamentary constituency of Modi. The least number of four candidates are fighting the polls from Bansgaon (SC) Lok Sabha seat.

Over 2.32 crore voters are expected to exercise their franchise in last phase of this election in As many as 25,874 polling booths have been set up in 13,979 polling centres in the final phase, the said.

There are a total of 80 Lok Sabha seats in the state out of which the BJP had won 71 seats and its ally Apana dal (Sonelal) two seats in the 2014 polls, leaving two for the and five for the The BSP had won no seat in the last

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, May 17 2019. 19:01 IST