You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Curtains drawn on campaign for Lok Sabha elections in Bihar

Press Trust of India  |  Patna 

Campaign for the long drawn out in Bihar, spread over all the seven phases, came to a close on Friday at 6 pm, for the last lap of electioneering wherein eight seats go to polls.

The constituencies which go to polls on Sunday are Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Karakat, Jehanabad and Nalanda. Seven of these were won by the NDA in 2014.

Leading the charge, held three rallies - one each in Pataliputra, and Sasaram constituencies - where he was joined by alliance partners Nitish Kumar, who heads the JD(U) and Union minister and LJP chief

It was an extensive campaign by the who addressed altogether 10 rallies in the state where the total number of seats is 40.

Rahul Gandhi, who did not visit the state in the last couple of phases, held a rally in Pataliputra in support of jailed RJD supremo Lalu Prasad's eldest daughter

He also held a roadshow in Patna Sahib where actor- turned-politician is seeking re-election for third consecutive term, this time as a candidate.

BJP held rallies in Pataliputra and Arrah where party MPs and Union ministers and RK Singh, respectively, are in the fray.

Shah also held a roadshow in Patna Sahib in support of Ravi Shankar Prasad, who has been fielded to retain the seat for the party by wresting it from Shatrughan Sinha.

Sinha began his campaign nearly three weeks behind his BJP rival since he joined the nearly a fortnight after the NDA came out with its list of candidates.

In the last one week, he was joined by his wife Poonam, who is making her poll debut from a seat held by

R K Singh's principal challenger is CPI(ML) Liberation's Raju Yadav, who is being supported by the RJD-led Mahagathbandhan. The ultra-Left outfit's and politburo member were among those who campaigned in favour of Yadav.

Rallies were also addressed by in Karakat and seats.

Karakat is held by Upendra Kushwaha, who was with the NDA five years ago but is now with the Mahagathbandhan. His NDA challenger is JD(U)'s Mahabali Singh, who had won the seat in 2009.

is held by Ashwini Kumar Choubey, who is pitted against RJD veteran Jagadanand Singh.

An election meeting was also held in the capital by

Another seat which was won by the RLSP is Jehanabad. The sitting Arun Kumar, who quit the party a couple of years ago, is in the fray as an Independent while the RLSP has given up the seat in favour of RJD, which has fielded MLA Surendra The NDA has fielded JD(U)'s Chandreshwar

Nalanda is the pocket borough of Nitish Kumar whose party retained the seat even in 2014 when almost the entire state was swept by the Modi wave. The JD(U) has reposed confidence in Kaushalendra Kumar, its while the Mahagathbandhan here is represented by Hindustani Awam Morchas'

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, May 17 2019. 18:16 IST