You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

In UP, BJP gets 60 and counting, SP-BSP struggles to touch 15

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

The BJP and its ally Apna Dal(S) have won 62 of Uttar Pradesh's 80 Lok Sabha seats, demolishing the challenge posed by the SP-BSP alliance, which has managed to get 14 seats between them.

The counting of votes is still underway in the state, which sends the highest number of MPs in the Lower House, and the Election Commission has declared results of 77 seats as of 6:20 AM Friday.

Of these, the BJP has won 60 seats and its NDA ally Apna Dal (S) two. The BJP is also leading on two seats.

The party's most remarkable victory came in Amethi where Union minister Smriti Irani unseated Congress president Rahul Gandhi from his party's bastion.

The NDA tally was just 11 short of the 73, the number of seats the two parties won in the Hindi heartland state in 2014. This gap is set to come down to nine.

The opposition SP-BSP alliance bagged 14 seats, with nine going to Mayawati's BSP.

The party is also leading in one seat.

The Congress just managed to open its account in the state as UPA chairperson and Congress leader Sonia Gandhi won the Rae Bareli seat.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, May 24 2019. 06:30 IST