You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Indian Oil retain Gold Cup Hockey crown; Raghunath shines

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Indian Oil retained their Bombay Gold Cup Hockey crown Wednesday after fighting back from the brink to overcome and (PSB) 9-7 via the penalty shootout in the summit clash here.

The oilmen from Bengaluru and the bankmen from Jalandhar fought their way to a tense 5-5 stalemate in regular time in the final of the 53rd edition of the tournament.

Indian and equalised at the death through a penalty corner when his side trailed 4-5 to force the tie-break which the oilmen won by showing better nerves at the

Raghunath again converted a when Vikramjit Singh, who was working his way to score from the fourth attempt, was fouled by the rival Guriqbal Singh to seal Indian Oil's 4-2 penalty shootout success.

Earlier, and scored twice in the second quarter through Harmanpreet Singh (24thminute) and through a penalty corner (29thminute) to open up a 2-0 half-time lead.

After the break, Indian Oil bounced back to score four quick goals during the third quarter to assert their dominance and snatch a healthy 4-2 lead.

Affan Yousuf slapped home cross from the right in the 39thminute and then Nilam converted from a short corner in the 41stminute to level the scores.

Then Talwinder Singh beat the rival keeper with a superb reverse hit in the 43rdminute to give Indian Oil the lead before scored the fourth goal in the next minute to help the oilmen end the third quarter with a 4-2 advantage.

came roaring back and fired in three goals to snatch a 5-4 lead in the last quarter.

First Gaganpreet hit the target from their fifth penalty corner in the 51stminute before Jaskaran scored from a brilliant combined move in the 56th to put the bankers on level terms at 4-all.

Later, Harmapreet was on target with his second and the team's fifth goal in the 58thminute to give the a 5-4 lead.

Indian Oil pressed hard and earned a penalty corner at the fag-end which skipper Raghunath converted for the equaliser.

In the penalty shootout, Indian Oil's Bharat Chhikra, Talwinder and S K Uthappa successfully converted, while Vikranjit was fouled and Raghunath converted from the

For PSB, only Ranjot Singh and Gaganpreet Singh managed to score, while Jaskaran and Satbir Singh were foiled by Indian Oil

Bharat Petroleum's 18-year-old forward was adjudged as the most of the tournament and received a cheque of Rs 10,000 awarded by the Journalists' Association of Mumbai.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 13 2019. 20:09 IST