You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Kavita, Kajal and national champion Rashmi enter quarters

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

India no. 4 Kavita Somanchi of Reserve Bank prevailed over Geeta Devi of BSNL in a straight games encounter 25-10 25-10 to enter the women's singles quarterfinals in the All India Public Sector Carrom Tournament here today.

In another pre-quarter final match Kajal Kumari of Indian Oil overcame stiff challenge from Life Insurance Corporation of India's Shilpa Palnitkar, the Maharashtra state champion, 11-25 25-0 25-12.

Earlier Shilpa had shocked former World Champion S Illavazhaki of ONGC 0-25 25-11 25-16 in a thrilling three-game second round encounter.

In another close three-game encounter, Khushbu Kumari of Indian Oil prevailed over her teammate Madhuri Tayshetye 25-1 14-25 25-19 to advance into the quarter finals.

In another match former world champion S Apoorva of LIC easily prevailed over Bunti Laishram of BSNL 25-4, 25-11 to advance further.

Current national and world champion Rashmi Kumari also made the grade comfortably.

In the men's team championship, Zone-1 winners Indian Oil will play against Reserve Bank of India who finished second in Zone -2 with six points. Zone-2 winners Air India 'B' will clash with Air India 'A' who finished second in the Zone-2 with six points.

The tournament is being organised by Air India and Maharashtra Carrom Association under the auspices of All India Public Sector Sports Promotion Board at AI Sports Club in Kalina.

Important results:

Women's singles (pre quarter finals): Kavita Somanchi (RBI) bt Geeta Devi (BSNL) 25-10 25-10; Deepika Sinha (LIC) bt R Vinita (ONGC) 25-11 25-0; World & National Champion Rashmi Kumari (ONGC) bt Lalita (LIC) 25-0, 25-5; Sneha More (IOC) bt Manjiri Vaidhya (MTNL) 25-5 25-4; Khushbu Kumari (IOC) bt Madhuri Tayshetye (IOC) 25-1 14-25 25-19; Parimala Devi (IOC) bt Medha Matkari (LIC) 7-25 25-4 25-7; S Apoorva (LIC) bt Bunti Laisram (BSNL) 25-4 25-11; Kajal Kumari (IOC) bt Shilpa Palnitkar (LIC) 11-25, 25-9, 25-12.

Men's team championship Zone -1: Indian Oil Corporation 8 points, Air India 'B' 6 points

Zone - 2: 1. Air India 'A' 8 points, Reserve Bank of India 6 points.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Thu, January 09 2014. 16:25 IST