You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Padmaavat', 'Sanju' lead nominations for Indian Film Festival Of Melbourne Awards

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Sanjay Leela Bhansali's "Padmaavat" and Rajkumar Hirani's "Sanju" will battle it out at this year's Of awards.

Bhansali's period drama has bagged nominations for best film, best director, best actor, for both and Shahid Kapoor, and best for

"Padmaavat" is based on the 16th century epic, "Padmavat" by It featured Shahid as Maharaja Ratan Singh, Ranveer as and Deepika as

"Sanju", a biopic on Sanjay Dutt, has scored four nominations- best film, best director, best for Ranbir Kapoor and best supporting for Vicku Kaushal.

Apart from "Padmaavat" and "Sanju", other movies nominated at the awards include "Padman", "Hichki", "Secret Superstar", "Raazi", "Mahanati", "Rangasthalam".

In the race for the best award is Shoojit Sircar for "October", R. Balki for "Padman", Siddharth P Malhotra for "Hichki", Advait Chandan for "Secret Superstar", for "Padmaavat", Rima Das for "Village Rockstars", Dipesh Jain for "In the Shadows", Ere Gowda for "Balekempa", Suresh Triveni for "Tumhari Sulu", Meghna Gulzar for "Raazi", Tabrez Noorani for "Love Sonia" and Rohena Gera for "Sir".

This year's competition section at the festival will portray the diversity of

The best category includes for "Hichki", Vidya Balan for "Tumhari Sulu", Alia Bhatt for "Raazi", Bhanita Das for "Village Rockstars", Keerthy Suresh for "Mahanati", Tillotama Shome for "Sir", and Zaira Wasim for "Secret Superstar".

Also nominated in the best actor category are Varun Dhawan for "October", Akshay Kumar for "Padman", Manoj Bajpayee for "In the Shadows", Fahadh Faasil for "The Exhibit and the Eyewitness" and Soumitra Chaterjee for "Mayurakshi".

While Kaushal has bagged a best actor in a supporting role nomination for portraying Sanjay's friend in the biopic, he will be joined by for "In the Shadows", Samantha Akkineni for "Mahanati", Richa Chadha and Freida Pinto for "Love Sonia",Trimala Adhikari for "Garbage" and Meher Vij for "Secret Superstar".

Films nominated in the best indie category are "In the shadows", "Village Rockstars", "Balekempa", "Up, Down and Sideways (Documentary)", "Murakshi", "Garbage", "Sir", "Love Sonia".

The of jury members consists of notable directors, writers, actors and editors from and Australia, namely Simi Garewal, Sue Maslin, Jill Bilcock, Andrew Anastaisos, and

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, July 12 2018. 19:20 IST