You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Sirisena suffers reversal in his Lanka parliament majority claim

Press Trust of India  |  Colombo 

In a setback to Sri Lankan Maithripala Sirisena, a of his (UPFA) government resigned Tuesday and backed ousted in the ongoing political crisis.

Sirisena sacked on October 26 and replaced him with Mahinda Rajapaksa, a controversial former president, and suspended parliamentary proceedings until November 16.

Manusha Nanayakkara, who was in Sirisena/Rajapaksa original list of 96 MPs, said in a letter to Sirisena Tuesday that in his opinion was still the legitimate as accepted by the parliamentary

He resigned as the of Labour and Foreign Employment to leave the and join Wickremesinghe. He was sworn in as the only on November 1.

In a video message, Nanayakkara said that he does not approve of the arbitrary political appointments that have taken place and will support the struggle to protect and uphold democracy.

Nanayakkara's defection came hours after Sirisena announced publicly that people should not doubt his majority - 113 in the 225-member legislature.

Legislators have been switching sides ever since the island nation was plunged into a political and constitutional crisis with Sirisena's move to sack Wickremesinghe last month.

Rajapaksa had been bolstered by at least 9 defections from Wickremesinghe's and

Since the crisis broke out there have been that MPs were offered up to 500 million rupees to switch sides.

on Monday slammed Sirisena's "unconstitutional and undemocratic" actions to Wickremesinghe and suspend Parliament, saying he will not recognise Rajapaksa as the new unless he wins a floor test.

He asked the to reconvene the parliament for a floor test and end the ongoing political crisis.

Sirisena's side charged that Jayasuriya, a UNP senior, was backing his Wickremesinghe by compromising the neutral position of of parliament.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, November 06 2018. 16:35 IST