You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

TDP MP Ramesh elected to Parliament's PAC

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

TDP CM was elected to the (PAC) of Parliament today after the opposition unitedly voted for him.

Ramesh, whose party has only six members in the Upper House, got maximum 106 votes out of the three candidates who were in contention.

While bagged 69 votes and JD(U) leader Harivansh, who is likely to be the NDA's candidate for the Rajya Sabha deputy chairman's post, received only 26 votes.

Both Yadav and got elected to the (PAC), which audits the revenue and the expenditure of the

"It is a victory of morality against arrogance," said.

Sources said the entire opposition, including the Congress, supported Ramesh's candidature.

The victory comes days ahead of the election to the post of deputy of the Rajya Sabha where the opposition is contemplating to field a common candidate.

The PAC comprises of not more than 22 members, of which 15 are from the Lok Sabha, seven from the Rajya Sabha.

MPs from both the houses elected members of the PAC from among themselves through election.

It is formed every year and its is appointed by the of the Lok Sabha.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, August 06 2018. 22:15 IST