Business Standard

AP assembly polls: YSR Congress eyes landslide win with leads in 151 seats

Assembly elections for Andhra Pradesh took place simultaneously with Lok sabha elections.

Press Trust of India  |  Amaravati (AP) 

Y S Jaganmohan Reddy
YSRC Chief Jagan Mohan Reddy

The YSR is set to wrest power in with the party on course to secure a landslide win, leaving the ruling way behind in the assembly elections.

The Y S Jaganmohan Reddy-led YSRC is leading in 151 seats and in 24, as per trends available with the

Several top leaders of the Telugu Desam Party, including many ministers, are on the verge of defeat.

Chief Minister N is leading in Kuppam but his son and state IT Minister Nara Lokesh lagging behind by over 8,900 votes in Mangalagiri segment in his first electoral battle.

Jaganmohan Reddy is also leading in Pulivendula assembly segment.

State president and minister K Kala Venkata Rao, ministers P Narayana, Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy, Ganta Srinivasa Rao, K Atchannaidu, K Ravindra, K Srinivasulu, N Amarnatha Reddy, P Pulla Rao, Bhuma Akhila Priya, N Anand Babu, Assembly Speaker Kodela Sivaprasada Rao, Deputy Speaker Mandali Buddha Prasad are trailing by considerable margins to their YSR rivals in their respective constituencies.

Other senior TDP leaders also look set to bite the dust.

Film star and MLA Nandamuri Balakrishna, however, is leading in Hindupur Assembly segment.

Jana Sena founder and film star Pawan Kalyan is trailing in the Bhimavaram and Gajuwaka segments he contested.

First Published: Thu, May 23 2019. 10:46 IST