You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

YSRC announces first list of 9 candidates for LS polls in AP

Press Trust of India  |  Amaravati 

The YSR Saturday night announced its first list of nine candidates for the April 11 Lok Sabha elections in

Y S Jaganmohan Reddy is expected to announce the next list of candidates, possibly for all the 175 Assembly seats and the remaining 16 parliamentary constituencies on Sunday.

Only two old faces were found in the list of nine candidates announced late tonight as the YSRC chose fresh nominees for the Lok Sabha election.

A former of police Gorantla Madhav, who had a feud with J C while in service, was named as YSRC candidate for the Hindupur Lok Sabha seat.

Y S and P V Midhun Reddy, who quit as MPs in June last protesting the denial of Special Category Status to AP, have been renominated from Kadapa and Rajampet respectively.

The other candidates are (Araku-ST), Anuradha (Amalapuram-SC), (Anantapuramu), Nandigam Suresh (Bapatla-SC), and Reddappa (Chittoor-SC).

Meanwhile, the Party announced the candidature of for the Eluru Lok Sabha seat.

"We have chosen Dr Rao as our candidate impressed by his fight for the cause of tribals and environment protection.

He is a noted and his services are required for the country," said in a statement.

Gedela Srinivas, whom the nominated as its candidate for the Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat, joined the YSR Saturday evening.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, March 16 2019. 23:00 IST