Business Standard

ZP chairperson election to be held on June 8


Press Trust of India Hyderabad
The election for chairperson and vice-chairperson of Zilla Praja Parishad would take place on June 8, the Telangana State Election Commission (SEC) said Wednesday.
The Commission announced the schedule for conduct of (indirect) election to the offices of chairperson and vice-chairperson and others Wednesday.
According to the schedule, notice calling for a special meeting for election of chairperson and others would be given on or before June 7, the SEC said.
The rural local body polls, held in three phases, concluded on May 14.
The counting of votes would be taken up on June 4.
Results would be declared immediately.
The SEC also announced that election to the offices of Mandal Praja Parishad (MPP) president, vice president and others would be held on June 7.
The ZP chairpersons are elected by the Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituency (ZPTC) members, while MPP presidents are elected by Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituency (MPTC) members.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: May 29 2019 | 9:25 PM IST

Explore News