You are here: Home » Sports » IPL 2020 » News

IPL 2020, KKR vs RR highlights: Kolkata beats Rajasthan by 37 runs

Mavi and Nagarkoti, who battled injuries in the last two seasons, claimed two wickets apiece, while Varun Chakravarthy also got two to restrict the Royals to 137 for 9 in 20 overs

IPL 2020 | Kolkata Knight Riders | Rajasthan Royals

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


In Match 12 of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2020), under-19 World Cup-winning pace duo of Shivam Mavi and Kamlesh Nagarkoti led a clinical bowling display to help (KKR) register a comprehensive 37-run win over at Dubai International cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

Check KXIP vs MI playing 11 probables and head to head stats here

Mavi and Nagarkoti, who battled injuries in the last two seasons, claimed two wickets apiece, while Varun Chakravarthy also got two to restrict the Royals to 137 for 9 in 20 overs while chasing a target of 175.

This was after star Australian pacer Pat Cummins (1/19 from 3 overs) dismissed Steve Smith (3) as the Royals crumbled on a tricky run chase to suffer its first defeat after two successive wins.

For KKR, this was its second successive victory and they jumped to second spot behind Delhi Capitals.

Check 2020 IPL points table and team standings here

The margin of defeat would have been much bigger but for Tom Curran who remained unbeaten on 54 (from 36 balls) for a lost cause.

The casual and carefree manner of batting by the Royals top-order was baffling after Smith opted to field.

Jos Buttler and Smith started the proceedings looking to hit every ball in a 12-run first over off Sunil Narine.

In-form Smith survived a dropped catch off Cummins but perished caught-behind taking an inside-edge.

Who hold orange and purple cap this season? Check Here

Mavi (2/20 from 4 overs) then ended the dream run of Sanju Samson (8), executing a perfect bouncer, and followed it up by getting the dangerous-looking Jos Buttler (21 off 16) dismissed after power-play to have the Royals top-three out for 39.

Nagarkoti (2/13 from 2 overs) then joined the party, picking the wickets of Robin Uthappa (2) and Riyan Parag (1) in the space of four balls in his first over.

It was all over for the Royals after mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy (2/25 from 4 overs) grabbed the wickets of their last match hero Rahul Tewatia (14) and Jofra Archer (6).

Earlier, KKR found a fast and furious Jofra Archer too hot to handle as they were restricted to 174 for six after being sent in to bat.

Archer (2/18) hit the deck hard and clocked the fastest delivery of the tournament (152.1 kph) in a fiery spell, taking two key wickets of KKR -- in-form opener Shubman Gill (47 from 34 balls) and skipper Dinesh Karthik (1).
KKR vs RR playing 11: Both the teams has gone with an unchanged playing 11 from the previous match

KKR playing 11: Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (C&WK), Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy and Pat Cummins.

RR playing 11: Jos Buttler (WK), Steve Smith (C), Sanju Samson, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Robin Uthappa, Tom Curran, Shreyas Gopal, Jofra Archer, Jaydev Unadkat and Ankit Rajpoot.
IPL: RR vs KKR scorecard

Percentage of runs in boundaries scored by all 8 teams in so far:

. . Match 1 Match 2 Match 3 Total runs
% of runs in boundaries
CSK Runs 166 200 131 497
Boundaries 94 132 54 280
MI Runs 162 195 201 558
Boundaries 84 106 124 314
DC Runs 157 175 147 479
Boundaries 88 88 70 246
KXIP Runs 157 206 223 586
Boundaries 84 126 146 356
RCB Runs 163 109 201 473
Boundaries 76 58 128 262
SRH Runs 153 142 162 457
Boundaries 74 56 68 198
KKR Runs 146 145 174 465
Boundaries 94 80 96 270
RR Runs 216 226 137 579
Boundaries 138 164 72 374
 *TBP: To be played


Auto Refresh