You are here: Home » Sports » IPL 2021 » News

IPL 2021, Match 31, RCB vs KKR Highlights: Kolkata wins by 9 wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders' bowlers fired in unison to bundle out Royal Challengers Bangalore for a paltry 92

IPL 2021 | Royal Challengers Bangalore | IPL Champions

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


(KKR) beat (RCB) by nine wickets in Match 31 of 14th edition of (IPL 2021) at Sheikh Zayed Stadium on Monday.

Chasing a paltry 93 for a win, (48) and debutant Venkatesh Iyer (41 not out) stitched 82 runs for the opening wicket as KKR reached 94 for 1 in just 10 overs.

Earlier, electing to bat, RCB were bundled out for 92 with and Varun Chakravarthy taking three wickets apiece for 9 and 13 runs respectively.

Opening the bowling, architect-turned-mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy (3/13) did the star turn with three wickets in an excellent four-over spell. Star all-rounder (3/9 in three overs) also bagged three wickets, including AB de Villiers' golden duck, while there were two for Lockie Ferguson.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: Check Royal Challengers Bangalore's full schedule and squad here

2021 IPL points table and team rankings

2021 IPL latest news

Devdutt Padikkal was the highest scorer with 22 runs in a forgettable outing in skipper Virat Kohli's 200th game for RCB.

Bowling the day's second over, right-arm medium pacer Prasidh Krishna dealt RCB a big blow when he had trapped in front of wicket with his fourth delivery that jagged in and hit him above the knee-roll.

Earlier, KS Bharat and Wanindu Hasaranga will make their debut for RCB, while Venkatesh Iyer is set to play his maiden IPL game for KKR.

Kolkata Knight Riders' scorecard

Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Shubman Gill c Siraj b Chahal 48 34 6 1
Venkatesh Iyer not out 41 27 7 1
Andre Russell not out 0 0 0 0
Total: 94-1 in 10 Overs
Bowler Over Maiden Runs Wickets
Mohammed Siraj 2 0 12 0
Kyle Jamieson 2 0 26 0
Wanindu Hasaranga 2 0 20 0
Yuzvendra Chahal 2 0 23 1
Harshal Patel 2 0 13 0

Kohli was playing in a landmark 200th match for RCB, a team that he has been a part of since the beginning of the lucrative league in 2008.

"More special than the 200th game is this uniform: we promised that we would be playing for the Covid warriors, with these jerseys being auctioned for people," Kohli said at the toss. KKR needs to bring its campaign back on track after losing five out of seven matches during the India leg of . Kolkata must win at least five of its remaining seven matches to keep its playoffs hope alive.

Meanwhile, RCB is sitting comfortably on the top-half of the points table with 10 points in seven matches. Virat Kohli, who will step down as RCB captain after this season, will play his 200th match for and he's the only playing player in IPL history to represent RCB in all 14 seasons.


Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Virat Kohli lbw b Prasidh 5 4 1 0
Devdutt Paddikal c Karthik b Ferguson 22 20 3 0
KS Bharat c Shubman b Russell 16 19 1 0
Glenn Maxwell b Varun Chakravarthy 10 17 0 0
AB de Villiers b Russell 0 1 0 0
Sachin Baby c Rana b Chakravarthy 7 17 0 0
Wanindu Hasaranga lbw b Chakravarthy 0 1 0 0
Kyle Jamieson run out (Chakravarthy) 4 12 0 0
Harshal Patel b Ferguson 12 10 2 0
Mohammed Siraj c Chakravarthy b Russell 8 10 1 0
Yuzvendra Chahal not out 2 6 0 0
Total: 92-10 in 19 Overs
Bowler Over Maiden Runs Wickets
Varun Chakravarthy 4 0 13 3
Prasidh Krishna 4 0 24 1
Lockie Ferguson 4 0 24 2
Sunil Narine 4 0 20 0
Andre Russell 23 0 9 3

RCB vs KKR playing 11
KKR  playing 11: Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan(c), Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakravarthy, Prasidh Krishna

RCB playing 11:  Virat Kohli(c), Devdutt Padikkal, Srikar Bharat, Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers(w), Wanindu Hasaranga, Sachin Baby, Kyle Jamieson, Mohammed Siraj, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal


Auto Refresh