Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Telangana


Telangana is the newest state of India, formed after division of Andhra Pradesh in late 2014. This South Indian state has 17 Lok Sabha constituencies. Before the formation of Telangana, an undivided Andhra Pradesh had 42 seats. Among the 17 seats in the Telangana region of undivided Andhra Pradesh, 11 had been won by K Chandrasekhar Rao's Telangana Rashtra Samithi, with a vote share of 34.9 per cent. The Indian National Congress had won two seats with 24.7 per cent votes. The N Chandrababu Naidu-led Telugu Desam Party, the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Jaganmohan Reddy-led YSR Congress Party and others had together won four seats with a combined vote share of 40.4 per cent.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, an undivided Andhra Pradesh had a total of 64,934,133 registered electors, of whom 74.64 per cent, or 48,467,721, exercised their right to franchise across 71,225 polling stations to choose their 42 Members of Parliament from among 598 candidates.
Telangana has 119 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2018, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi had bagged 88 of those seats with a vote share 47.4 per cent. The Indian National Congress had won 19 seats with 28.7 per cent votes. The Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen had won 7 seats, with 2.7 per cent votes. The Telugu Desam Party had won 2 seats with 3.5 per cent votes. The other parties and independent candidates took 3 seats with a combined vote share of 17.7 per cent. At present, K Chadrasekhar Rao of the TRS is the chief minister of Telangana.