Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Uttarakhand


Uttarakhand, formed in the year 2000 after being carved out of the much larger Uttar Pradesh, has 5 Lok Sabha seats. In the previous Lok Sabha elections in 2014, the Bharatiya Janata Party swept the state by winning all five seats with a vote share of 55.9 per cent. The Indian National Congress, with 34.4 per cent votes, failed to make any impact.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Uttarakhand had a total of 7,127,057 registered electors, of whom 61.67 per cent, or 4,395,561, exercised their right to franchise across 10,078 polling stations to choose their 5 Members of Parliament from among 74 candidates.
Uttarakhand has 70 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2017, the Bharatiya Janata Party had won 57 of these seats with a vote share of 47 per cent. The Indian National Congress had polled 33.8 per cent of the votes but won only 11 seats. The remaining two seats went to independent candidates who polled 10.1 per cent votes. At present, Trivendra Singh Rawat of the Bharatiya Janata Party is the chief minister of Uttarakhand.