Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » West Bengal


West Bengal, a state in East India, has 42 Lok Sabha seats. In the previous Lok Sabha elections in 2014, the Mamata Banerjee-led All Indian Trinamoool Congreess had won 34 seats with a vote share of 39.8 per cent. The Indian National Congress, with 9.7 per cent votes, had won 4 seats, while the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and the Bharatiya Janata Party bagged 2 seats each with vote shares of 23 per cent and 17 per cent, respectively.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, West Bengal had a total of 62,833,107 registered electors, of whom 82.22 per cent, or 51,662,563, exercised their right to franchise across 77,252 polling stations to choose their 42 Members of Parliament from among 472 candidates.
West Bengal has 294 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2016, the Trinamool Congress had won 211 of these seats with a vote share of 45.6 per cent. The Indian National Congress had polled 12.4 per cent of the votes to win 44 seats. The CPI(M) had bagged 26 seats with 20.1 per cent votes. The Bharatiya Janata Party and the Revolutionary Socialist Party had won three seats each with vote shares of 10.3 per cent and 1.7 per cent, respectively. The remaining six seats went to independent candidates and other parties which polled 9.9 per cent votes. At present, Mamata Banerjee of the Trinamool Congress is the chief minister of West Bengal.