Business Standard
You are here » Home » Bangladesh cricket team


Bangladesh Cricket Team

The Bangladesh cricket team, also known as Tigers, are administered by the Bangladesh cricket Board (BCB). Bangladesh is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), with Test, One Day International (ODI) and T20 International (T20I) -playing status. BCB first became an associate member of the ICC in 1977. And on June 26, 2000, after Bangladesh defeated Pakistan in a league match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1999, it became a full ICC member. Previously, Bangladesh had made its first official international cricket appearance in the 1979 ICC Trophy in England. The Bangladesh national cricket team later played their first ODI match on March 31, 1986, against Pakistan in Asia Cup.
After full membership of the ICC, however, the team had a rather dismal run — they hold the record for most consecutive losses in Tests (21) between 2000 and 2002. They also hold a similar dubious distinction in ODIs — 23 consecutive losses between 2001 and 2004. Bangladesh had to wait until 2004 for their first ODI victory; they defeated Zimbabwe. Again, Zimbabwe were on the losing side when Bangladesh registered their maiden Test win in 2005. The Tigers went on to win that Test series as the only other match ended in a draw.
In 2009, the team had a successful tour of the West Indies, where they won both ties in a two-match series. This was their first Test series victory overseas.
Bangladesh in ICC Cricket ODI World Cups
In 1997, Bangladesh won the ICC Trophy in Malaysia and qualified to play in the ICC Cricket World Cup 1999, hosted by England. They had an excellent World Cup debut — their victory against Pakistan also helped them get a full ICC member status. In the 2003 edition of the World Cup, Bangladesh finished 13th among 14 participating teams, having failed to win any of its matches.
By comparison, the 2007 World Cup could be called a turning point for Bangladesh cricket. The team handed India a shock defeat at the group stage, a major upset that saw the latter getting knocked out of the tournament. Bangladesh reached the Super Eight stage but failed to progress further.
While in the 2011 cricket World Cup they were eliminated at the league stage itself, they reached the quarterfinals in the next edition of the tournament in 2015. They put up a spirited performance to defeat England and made their first entry into a World Cup knock-out. Bangladesh qualified for the World Cup 2019 without having to play a qualifier as they were placed higher than Windies in the ICC ODI rankings. Given their consistent performance since the 2015 World Cup, the Bangladesh team led by Mashrafe Mortaza looks poised to put up a tough fight in the 2019 edition and even cause a few upsets as they play against favourites England, South Africa, Australia and India.


Bangladesh Cricket Team In News