You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » Sports
Business Standard

Ekta lone Indian in both ICC ODI, T20I Teams of the Year

The panel took into consideration player performances from September 21, 2016 to date

IANS  |  Dubai 

Indian women's team left-arm spinner emerged the lone Indian to feature in both the International Council (ICC) ODI and T20I teams of the year with Englands named as of the 50-over side and West Indian appointed of the 20-over side.

was included in the ODI team of the year while her deputy found a place in the T20I team.

Mithali, who became the highest run-getter in the history of women's ODI during the Women's earlier this year, led to their second final appearance in the showpiece event, where her girls went down fighting against hosts England.

The two sides were selected by the same panel, which had voted for the annual individual awards, and included Chloe Saltau, Mel Jones, (Australia); Charlotte Edwards, Kalika Mehta, Alison Mitchell, (England and Wales); Anjum Chopra, Snehal Pradhan (India); (New Zealand); Firdose Moonda, (South Africa); Sa'adi Thawfeeq (Sri Lanka) and Ian Bishop, (Windies).

The panel took into consideration performances from September 21, 2016 to date.

Knight was named captain after she inspired her side to a stunning Women's victory in front of a packed Lord's in July.

The world's top-ranked T20I batter Taylor was given the nod as captain of the inaugural Women's T20I Team of the Year, introduced as part of the ICC's commitment to enhance the profile of women's and bring greater equity with the men's game.

The ODI side comprises players from five countries, including two Australians (and Ellyse Perry), four England players (Tammy Beaumont, Heather Knight, and Alex Hartley), two Indians (and Ekta Bisht), two South Africans (and Marizanne Kapp) and one New Zealander (Amy Satterthwaite).

The T20I side is made up of three Australians (Beth Mooney, Megan Schutt, Amanda-Jade Wellington), three West Indians (Stafanie Taylor, and Hayley Matthews), two Indians (and Ekta Bisht), two New Zealanders (and Lea Tahuhu), and one from England (Danni Wyatt).



(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, December 21 2017. 17:08 IST