Business Standard

Narendra Modi files nomination from Maninagar constituency

Gujarat chief minister on Friday filed his nomination papers from the for the assembly polls. This is for the third time that Modi is contesting from Maninagar seat in Ahmedabad city.

The state assembly elections are scheduled in two phases for December 13 and 17, 2012. For the second phase of polls, November 30 was the last day to file the nominations.

Addressing a rally at his constituency, Modi expressed confidence to be victorious with thumping majority.

"This is an important election for me. This (elections) will set an example for the entire nation that an election can be won on the issue of development," he said in his speech at Maninagar prior to filing his nomination in the afternoon.

During his speech, the chief minister gave a new motto for the party, Vikas (development), Vishwaas (trust) and Vijay (victory) for the upcoming polls.

"Entire nation is in despair and people have lost hope in political system. Results of these elections are going to be historical," he stated.

In a surprising move, Congress has fielded Shweta Bhatt, wife of suspended IPS officer, against Modi from the Maninagar constituency. Bhatt was suspended after he alleged Gujarat chief minister of asking the state police to go slow on rioters during the 2002 post-Godhra riots. Shweta Bhatt, too, filed her nominations from Maninagar assembly constituency on Friday.

In 2007 elections, Modi had won Maninagar seat with a margin of around 75,000 votes defeating Congress' Dinsha Patel, who is presently a minister in the UPA-II government. Maninagar assembly seat has a total of 227,982 voters, out of which 109,384 are female voters.

Meanwhile, the former minister of state for home, Amit Shah, who is facing charges in a fake encounter case, has also filed his nomination from Naranpura constituency in Ahmedabad city.

Read more on:   

Read More

AIADMK to go it alone in LS polls: Jayalalithaa

The ruling-AIADMK today said it will not have alliance with Congress and BJP for the upcoming Lok Sabha election in 2014. Today's decision has ended ...

Recommended for you

Quick Links

Back to Top