Auto Segment
Mutual Fund Segment
My Budget
Expert Speak
In Association With
Business Standard

11 scientists selected for Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize-2012

Related News

Shantanu Chowdhury of the Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology and Suman Kumar Dhar of the Special Centre for Molecular Medicine at the Jawaharlal Nehru University bagged the prize in the field of biological sciences.

In the area of chemical sciences, the prizes went to Govindsamy Mugesh of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (IISc) and Gangadhar J Sanjayan of the CSIR National Chemical Laboratory, Pune.

Ravishankar Narayanan of IISc and Y Shanthi Pavan of Indian Institute of Technology-Madras won the prizes in the engineering sciences category.

In the area of mathematical sciences, Siva Ramachandran Athreya and Debashish Goswami of the won the prestigious prize.

Sandip Basu of the Radiation Medicine Centre at Bhabha Atomic Research Centre bagged the prize in the medical sciences category.

In the area of physical sciences, Arindam Ghosh of IISc and Krishnendu Sengupta of the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science won the prize.

The winners were announced by Samir K Brahmachari, Director General of Council for Scientific and Industrial Research at a function here to mark the 70th foundation day of Council.

The prize is named after the founder-Director General of CSIR and carries a cash component of Rs five lakh.

It is given annually to young scientists below the age of 45 who have made outstanding contributions in any field of science and technology.


Read more on:   

Read More

ACP, two other cops booked in funds misappropriation case

Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Dhanraj Vanjari was today booked for alleged misappropriation of funds along with two other policemen, a ...

Recommended for you

Quick Links


Back to Top