You are here: Home » Companies » News
Business Standard

Coal union opposes 15% stake dilution in CIL

BS Reporter  |  Kolkata/ Angul 

Akhil Bharatiya Khadan Majdoor Sangh (ABKMS), a major trade union in Coal India Limited (CIL), has strongly opposed the Centre's move to offload 15 per cent stake in the

Stating that the move to disinvest the government stake in is unwarranted and imprudent, the coal trade union said it will oppose the move vehemently. The union passed a proposal in this regard at its three-day triennial conference held at Talcher near here from March 10-13.

The conference attended by union leaders from eight coal bearing states also adopted ten proposals on coal and other economic matters.

The trade union demanded the creation of power inventory after studying all the power resources by the expert committee. It expressed concern over squeezing of permanent jobs in coal sector and demanded an end to outsourcing in the sector.

The union also raised other proposals pertaining to welfare, social security, safety and education of the coal workers.

Besides, the coal trade union also expressed its anguish over spiraling price rise which affected all sections of the society and urged the Centre to control price rise. It urged the Centre to put in place an independent mechanism for revision of coal prices from time to time like diesel and petrol prices.

has called for change of policy relating to revision of variable dearness allowances as per the sharp price rise. The coal trade union also opposed the Centre’s move to change the current structure of labour law. The three-day conference of the union was inaugurated by K Laxma Reddy, secretary of The new office bearers of the trade union were elected on the occasion. was elected as the president of ABKMS while Surendra Kumar Pandey was chosen as the general secretary. Srinibash Rao and Badal Maharana from Mahanadi Coalfields Limited (MCL) were elected as the vice president and secretary of the union respectively.

First Published: Tue, March 16 2010. 00:01 IST