You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

15th Finance Commission: FMs of 6 non-BJP rules states to meet Prez Kovind

The Finance Ministers of Kerala, West Bengal, Puducherry, Punjab and Delhi, besides Andhra Pradesh, will be part of the delegation

Press Trust of India  |  Amaravati 

Finance ministers addressing PC at Amaravati pics

of six non-ruled states will meet in New on Thursday and submit a memorandum, seeking amendments to the Terms of Reference of the

The of Kerala, West Bengal, Puducherry, and Delhi, besides Andhra Pradesh, will be part of the delegation,state Finance Minister Yanamala Ramakrishnudu said.

"We will explain the damage that will be caused to states because of the of the and seek his intervention," he said in a press release here this evening.

A conclave of and of various states held here on May 7 noted that the "posed a threat to the economic independence of the states" and made a strong pitch for assured devolution (of funds) rather than discretionary devolution.

It strongly opposed the ToR, saying they reflected the Centre's 'discriminatory' attitude towards the states.

A draft memorandum approved at the conclave said the FFC's "violate the federal principle as enshrined in the Constitution, erode autonomy of all states, and bring significant financial hardship".

While suggesting at least 13 amendments to the ToR, the conclave also wanted Union Territories with legislature (and Puducherry) included along with states for consideration by the FFC.

The main amendment sought was to Para 4 (ii) to restore the words 'which are in need of assistance', mentioned in Article 275 of the Constitution, in the appropriate place.

It also wanted the last sentence in Para 5 relating to revenue deficit grants deleted.

In Para 6, the conclave sought deletion of the words 'likely to be reached by 2024-25' and insertion of current after the words 'on the basis of'.

Terms referring to flagship schemes of the Government of India and Direct Benefits Transfer should also be deleted, it said.

The memorandum will be submitted to the at 5 PM on Thursday.

First Published: Thu, May 17 2018. 00:03 IST