You are here: Home » Elections » Assam Election » News
Business Standard

Polling begins for 39 seats in second phase of Assam Assembly elections

Polling began at 7 am on Thursday for 39 seats in the second phase of assembly elections in Assam amid tight security, officials said

Assam assembly polls | Assam | Elections

Press Trust of India  |  Guwahati 

Loksabha elections 2019
A man gets his finger inked before casting his vote at a polling station

Polling began at 7 am on

Thursday for 39 seats in the second phase of assembly in amid tight security, officials said.

The fate of 345 candidates, including 26 women, is being decided by over 73.44 lakh voters in this phase.

Among those contesting the in this phase are five ministers and the deputy speaker of the outgoing House.

The polling will continue till 6 pm as the duration has been extended by an hour to ensure strict adherence to COVID-19 protocols.

Voters were seen wearing masks and maintaining social distance in the queues.

Over 73.44 lakh voters will exercise their franchise in 10,592 polling stations spread over 13 districts in the Barak Valley, the hill regions and parts of central and lower

A total of 310 companies of security forces have been deployed to carry out strict vigil and prevent any untoward incident.

Around 42,368 polling personnel have been deployed, of whom 1,516 were dispatched two days in advance to far-flung areas, particularly in Dima Hasao and East and West Karbi Anglong district, the officials said.

The ruling BJP is contesting 34 seats, while its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) is fighting in six constituencies and the United People's Party Liberal (UPPL) in three.

The BJP is engaged in friendly fights with the AGP in Patharkandi and Algapur and the UPPL in Majbat and Kalaigaon.

In the 'Mahajot' (Grand Alliance), the Congress is contesting in 28, the AIUDF in seven and the Bodoland Peoples' Front (BPF) in four.

The newly-floated Jatiya Parishad (AJP) is contesting in 19 seats.

There is a direct contest between the NDA and the Grand Alliance in 25 seats, while the rest of the constituencies are witnessing a triangular fight.

The three-phase to the 126-member assembly began on March 27 for 47 constituencies, registering a voter turnout of 79.97 per cent.

The third and final phase of the elections to the 40 seats will be held on April 6. The votes will be counted on May 2.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Thu, April 01 2021. 07:32 IST