You are here: Home » Elections » West Bengal Election » News

West Bengal election result LIVE: Mamata takes oath as CM for 3rd term

West Bengal election result 2021 LIVE updates: Mamata Banerjee-led TMC has won 213 seats. Stay tuned for final West Bengal election result

West Bengal Assembly polls | BJP | Mamata Banerjee

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


West Bengal election result 2021 LIVE updates: The Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool (TMC) won 213 seats. The party, which had 209 members in the outgoing Assembly, improved its 2016 tally. The state has a 294-member Assembly but election was countermanded in Shamsherganj and Jangipur constituencies due to the death of candidates. A party needed 147 seats for a simple majority in the House with an effective strength of 292. Today, will be taking the oath as the chief minister of the state for the third time in a row.  The mercurial leader, however, lost by 1,956 votes in Nandigram to former protege-turned- adversary Suvendu Adhikari.

Meanwhile, challenger Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fell way below its expected number of seats; it has won 77.

The CPI(M)-led Left Front and the party, which ruled the state for nearly six decades between them, faced an unprecedented rout in West Bengal assembly elections. Neither could open its account. An alliance with the newly-formed ISF did not seem to have helped the CPI(M)-led Left Front and the .

Stay tuned for West Bengal election result 2021 LIVE updates


Auto Refresh