You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

BJP poised to shine in UP civic polls, Congress loses Amethi

ANI  |  Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) [India] 

The ruling Bharaitya Janata Party (BJP) is poised to shine in the Civic Polls.

As per the latest counting updates, the is leading in 14 of the 16 mayoral seats in the state. In the remaining two places, the (BSP) is leading.

The got biggest electoral jolt after the won the Amethi Nagar by over a 1,000 votes.

Amethi is Vice President Rahul Gandhi's constituency, and has long been a bastion of the Gandhi family.

The BJP's Chandrama Devi won the Amethi Nagar by 1035 votes.

The candidates have won Agra, and mayoral seats. BJP's Pramila Pandey has become second woman mayor. Vinod Agarwal of the BJP has won the mayor seat of Moradabad.

The BJP leads in 57 wards of the 98 wards getting counted in

come as a jolt for the as the has dented their vote base in urban areas.

The BJP has also won the prestigious Ayodhya-Faizabad seat. The BJP candidate defeated Samajwadi Party's Bindu by around 4600 votes. Ayodhya had been elevated to Nagar Nigam along with Mathura by the ruling BJP in the state.

However, some surprising have also shaken the has lost all the six seats of chairmen of Nagar Panchayats in the home turf of Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Maurya's bastion.

Independent Rajendra Kumar Singh won the Sirathu Nagar Pacnhayat seat while SP's Urmila Devi emerged victorious in Karari Nagar. In Majhanpur, BSP's Mehtab Alam won. At Chail, Sarai Akil and Ajuha, independent candidate Shivmani Kesarwani, Congress's Rohit Aazad and Independent Anil Kumar bagged the top posts, respectively.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath's home town Gorakhpur too had a bad news for the BJP as its corporator candidate has lost in the ward where Adityanath had voted.

In Mathura, the BJP candidate Meera Agarwal won from ward number 56 through lottery system as she and the candidate 874 votes each.

Counting of votes of all 652 Urban Local Bodies is being held at 334 centers in and full are expected by evening. Polling was held in three phases on November 22, 26 and 29.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, December 01 2017. 16:00 IST