Business Standard

US lifts ban on refugees from 11 countries


ANI Washington D.C. [U.S]
The Trump administration said on Monday that it would resume accepting refugees from 11 "high risk" nations, but said those seeking to enter the U.S. would come under much tougher scrutiny than in the past.
The U.S. government would implement tougher screening procedures, where the refugees would face "extensive background checks" to weed out potential extremists and criminals.
"These additional security measures will make it harder for bad actors to exploit our refugee program, and they will ensure we take a more risk-based approach to protecting the homeland," the Washington Post quoted the Department of Homeland Security Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen as saying.
"The United States must continue to fulfil its obligation to the global community to assist those facing persecution and do so in a manner that addresses the security of the American people," she said.
The new measures will include additional interviews of applicants' family members, and close scrutiny of potential ties to organised crime, said senior U.S. officials.
The Trump administration has refused to identify the 11 nations it considers high-risk, citing "law enforcement sensitivities.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jan 30 2018 | 8:31 AM IST

Explore News