You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

West Bengal: TMC clean sweeps by-polls, wins all 3 Assembly seats

ANI  |  Politics 

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Thursday won all three Assembly seats in West Bengal, where the by-poll had been held on November 25.

The seats where the by-poll took place were Kaliaganj, Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur.

Bimalendu Sinha Roy of TMC defeated Jay Prakash Majumdar of the BJP by a margin of more than 23,000 votes on Karimpur seat, while Pradip Sarkar beat BJP's Prem Chandra Jha by close to 20,000 votes on Kharagpur Sadar seat.

Tapan Deb Singha of the TMC won from Kaliaganj (SC) seat by beating Kamal Chandra Sarkar of the BJP by a margin of close to 2,000 votes.

However, the BJP was able to win from Pithoragarh Assembly seat in Uttarakhand where its candidate Chandra Pant beat Congress' Anju Lunthi by a margin of more than 3,000 votes.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, November 28 2019. 18:04 IST