You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

2013 INRC to have eight rounds

IANS  |  Chennai 

In a media release here Wednesday, the FMSCI said it "seeks to re-invigorate the Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) with the announcement of an exciting eight-round championship set to take off in March."

"In what has been a purple patch for Indian motorsport overall, the FMSCI looks set to create a bigger and better season of rallying in 2013."

Of the eight rounds, two will be run on tarmac surface in Nashik and Kochi, both yet to be confirmed, while the other six will have dirt terrain.

The calendar is:

March 22-24: MMSC Chennai (Gravel); April 12-14: Northern Motorsports, Bhuj (Gravel); May 17-20: Kolkata, RRPM (Gravel); June 07-09: WISA, Nashik (Tarmac - TBC); July 19-21: CASC, Coimbatore (Gravel); September 20-22: KASC, Kochi (Tarmac - TBC); October 25-27: K1000, KMSC Bangalore (Gravel); and Novv29-Dec 01: MSCC, Chikmagalur (Gravel).

The INRC will comprise of two major classes: the Group N 1601-2000cc cars and up to 1600cc.

The FMSCI homologation of new machinery this year will also mark the entry of Maruti SX4 and Polo to the national rallying arena, the release added.

FMSCI president Vicky Chandhok said, "There's no hiding from the fact that 2012's INRC didn't go to plan, but all the clubs involved are putting in a solid effort to ensure we come back strong with heightened preparation for 2013."

"It's also good to see more manufacturer interest and we look forward to seeing some new cars on the dirt in 2013."

The FMSCI has also retained the Junior Indian National Rally Championship (JINRC) class for drivers under 27 years of age in Group N cars under 1600cc and the Indian Rally Championship (IRC) open to foreign participation in homologated Group N4 cars.

The release claimed that the series for 2013 has received "plenty of interest from Asia Zone drivers and will see drivers from Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia and Sri Lanka battle it out for the silverware."

First Published: Wed, December 19 2012. 18:45 IST