You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

31.53% polling recorded in Haryana (2nd Lead) (1 p.m.)

IANS  |  Chandigarh 

on Sunday witnessed only 31.53 per cent voting till 1 p.m. for the state's 10 seats, an said.

As of 1 p.m. the highest voter turnout was recorded in the seat at 37.66 per cent, followed by Sonipat, and Sirsa, the official told IANS.

Voting began at 7 a.m. for the Ambala, Kurukshetra, Gurugram, Faridabad, Hisar, Sirsa, Karnal, Sonipat, and constituences.

and sitting accused for Cooperatives of booth capturing in

Long queues of voters were seen outside polling booths across the 10 seats in the morning. By the afternoon, most of the booths looked deserted as temperatures began to soar.

Election officials expect that the turnout is likely to increase just hours before polling ends at 6 p.m.

In the 2014 elections, the polling percentage was 73 per cent, higher than 68 per cent in 2009.

Polling was delayed in some booths in Yamunanagar, Mahendragarh and Gohana towns due to Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) malfunctioning.

At polling booth number 84 in Gohana, the faulty could not be rectified till 10 a.m., hence only two votes were cast in three hours.

Manohar Lal Khattar, former and candidate from Hooda, Union Ministers Rao Inderjit Singh, and and Indian were among the early voters in the state.

Khattar, who took a train from Chandigarh to city to cast his vote, appealed to the voters to participate in the world's largest festival of democracy by exercising their franchise as early as possible.

Rao Inderjit Singh, and Hooda were among the 223 candidates, including 11 women, whose fate will be sealed by the over 1.80 crore voters.

The Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress, the Om Prakash Chautala-led (INLD) and its breakaway faction the (JJP) are the main political parties in the fray.

The BJP won seven of the 10 seats in 2014 with a vote share of 34.7 per cent as compared to 17.21 per cent in 2009 when it failed to win any seat.

The then ruling lost eight of the nine seats it had won in 2009 and saw its vote share declining to 22.9 per cent as compared to 41.77 per cent five years back.

The INLD, which won two seats in 2014, increased its vote share to 24.4 per cent from 15.78 per cent in 2009.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 12 2019. 14:30 IST