You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Chiranjeevi, Junior NTR, Sania Mirza vote in Telanagana

IANS  |  Hyderabad 

Superstars Chiranjeevi, and Junior NTR and tennis ace were among top celebrities who voted in the Assembly election on Friday.

Veteran Krishna, his wife Vijay Nirmala, well-known director Rajamouli and actors Venkatesh, Jagapathi Babu, Naga Babu, Srikanth, Allu Arjun, and also voted at various polling stations at here.

After coming out of the polling stations, they posed for cameras with their inked fingers and appealed to all citizens to exercise their democratic right.

With celebrities making a beeline, officials hoped that this would help improve the poll percentage in In 2014, the city had registered 53 per cent turnout.

The election authorities and the NGOs conducted awareness programmes, especially in urban areas, to increase the polling percentage.

along with his wife stood in a queue along with commoners to vote.

later told reporters that it was the duty of each and everyone to cast his vote. The former central and leader, however, parried questions about

Chiranjeevi, who had been focusing on films last four years, stayed away from campaigning in

and with his wife also voted. "It's your day. Come out and cast your vote instead of just complaining," he said.

Mirza, who recently gave birth to a child, voted in accompanied by her parents and sister. So did ace shuttler P.V. Sindhu and

Polling to elect a state Assembly was underway in in all of the 119 constituencies in the first full-fledged election in the country's youngest state.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, December 07 2018. 13:34 IST