You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Dynasts dominate BJP's list of candidates in Madhya Pradesh

IANS  |  New Delhi 

Dynasty politics, which has been the BJP's pet theme against the and regional parties for decades, seems to be dominating its selection of candidates for the Assembly elections.

The BJP, which has fielded candidates for all the 230 Assembly constituencies, has shown its confidence in the sons or relatives of senior party leaders as part of its strategy to overcome 15 years of anti-incumbency.

As per an analysis of the list of candidates issued in four instalments, the party has given tickets to over 40 such candidates who are either sons, daughters, wives and relatives of former MPs, MLAs or senior party functionaries.

The list includes the names of the kin of big guns like and former

Vijayvargiya's son has been fielded from constituency. Vijayvargiya, who has been representing Mhow in the state Assembly, is a close confidant of and has held several positions in the and party.

Gaur, who was reluctant to contest again in this Assembly polls, has been placated by the party by giving a ticket to his She is a former of Gaur has been representing constituency since 1980 and has won the seat for a record eight times consecutively.

Besides these big guns, the party has obliged many senior leaders by giving tickets to their kin.

Gauri Shankar Shejwar's son has been fielded from Constituency. Shejwar is among the tallest leaders of the BJP. He has been elected MLA for seven times from the seat in district.

Sudhir Yadav, son of Laxmi Narayan Yadav, has been fielded from Surkhi while the sitting MLA from Chandla R. D. Prajapati has been replaced by his son Harsh Singh, a in the has been denied a ticket and has been replaced by his son from Rampur Baghelan.

and former Ishwar Das Rohani's son, has been given the ticket from Jabalpur Cantt. Minister Vijay Shah's brother will be contesting from Timarni.

The party has fielded former Laxminarayan Pandey's son, from Jawra. Former minister Laxmikant Sharma's brother is contesting from Sironj. The party has fielded former Atal Bihari Vajpayee's nephew from Bhitarwar. He is an from Morena.

The list is long as there are many other sons and relatives of senior party leaders who have got tickets to contest this year's Assembly polls. The names include Harbansh Rathore, son of former minister and sitting MLA Harnam Singh Rathore from Banda, Shivnarayan Singh, son of MP Gyan Singh, Mahendra Singh Chouhan, son of former MLA and Manju Dadu, daughter of former MLA

The party has also repeated many candidates who are the relatives of senior party leaders and are now established names in state

They include minister Yashodhara Raje, daughter of Vijaya Raje Scindia, minister Vishwas Sarang, son of former MP Likewise, Dipak Joshi is the son of former Kailash Joshi, Surendra Patwa is the son of another former CM Sunderlal Patwa.

Neena Verma, wife of former has again been fielded from constituency. Former Virendra Kumar Sakhlecha's son will be contesting for a fourth consecutive term from Jawad.

Former Faggan Singh Kulaste's brother has been given the ticket to contest from Niwas. He will be seeking his fourth consecutive term. Former Brijmohan Mishra's daughter is a well known face of the party in the state. She has been fielded from Burhanpur for the third consecutive term.

The BJP, which every now and then attacks and accuses him of practising dynasty politics, has several dynasties flourishing in various states.

The names include Pankaja Munde and Preetam Munde, daughters of the late Gopinath Munde from Poonam Mahajan, daughter of Pramod Mahajan, is a MP from Mumbai North-Central.

Vasundhara Raje's son and Raman Singh's son are MPs.

Former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal's son, Anurag Thakur, is the member from Hamirpur. Maneka Gandhi is a while her son is an MP from Sultanpur in UP.

Former Uttar Pradesh Kalyan Singh's son, is an MP from Etah while former Chief Minister Late Sahib Singh Verma's son, is an MP from

Former Chief Minister B. S. Yeddyurappa's son is an MP from Shimoga in He recently won the by-poll to the parliamentary constituency.

(Brajendra Nath Singh can be contacted at



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, November 09 2018. 17:26 IST