You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

Injured Tamim Iqbal ruled out of Asia Cup

IANS  |  Dubai 

opener has been reportedly ruled out of the Asia Cup after his left wrist during the tournament opener against here on Saturday.

Iqbal, who suffered the in the second over of their innings, is likely to be out of action for at least six weeks.

"We took him to hospital only because it was a serious injury, and not just mere bruising," Minajul Abedin, the chief selector was quoted as saying by espncricinfo. "He was in some obviously and it wouldn't have been prudent to continue batting."

Iqbal was hit on his left wrist while attempting a pull against Suranga Lakmal in the second over and was taken to the hospital, where scans revealed a crack on the outside of his index finger.

The southpaw, however surprised everyone by returning to the crease at the fall of Bangladesh's ninth wicket in the 47th over, to give company to centurion Mushfiqur Rahim, who almost single-handedly guided the side to a fighting 261 with his highest ODI score of 144.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, September 15 2018. 21:28 IST