You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Kovind, Gandhis among mass to vote in LS battle, BJP worker killed

IANS  |  New Delhi 

Ram Nath Kovind, and were among the hundreds of thousands who voted on Sunday in the sixth and penultimate round of the polls in which a was killed in

Kovind flashed his inked finger after exercising his franchise along with his wife at a polling booth in the Rashtrapati Bhawan as voters trooped to polling booths in large numbers in 59 constituencies. The polling began at 7 a.m.

A total electorate of 10.17 crore is eligible to vote in the 14 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Haryana, eight each in Bihar, and West Bengal, seven in and four in

A BJP activist was killed in Jhargram in while supporters sustained at Keshpur in district as a number of incidents of violence were reported in the state.

In Uttar Pradesh, where the contest is intense between the BJP and the SP-BSP alliance with the becoming the third factor, street clashes were reported both in Jaunpur and Sultanpur, where is the BJP candidate.

In this phase, the BJP is defending 45 seats -- seven in Bihar, eight in Haryana, all four in Jharkhand, seven in Madhya Pradesh, 12 in and all seven in

Narendra Modi, who has already voted in Gujarat, urged everyone to vote and added that youngsters should do so in record numbers. "After all, their participation makes the polls even more special."

(BJP) made a similar appeal, saying needed a "strong government again".

He underlined that the had transformed from being a terror-stricken country to one that enemies were now scared of.

asserted after voting -- he went walking to the polling booth -- that his party was set to win the mammoth battle.

Accusing Modi of injecting hatred and asserting that the Congress spread love, he said: "Love is going to win."

He declined to comment on the number of seats the Congress could get. "The people will decide that."

and leader voted with his wife after urging voters to reject "hatred". and Congress also voted in the national capital.

Prominent among the 879 candidates include three-time Sheila Dikshit, who faces in Delhi North East, President from Uttar Pradesh's Azamgarh, former against BJP's Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur in Bhopal, former (BJP) in East Delhi against AAP's Atishi and (Congress) in South Delhi against AAP's Raghav Chadha and

Also contesting are Union Ministers Maneka Gandhi, from UP's Sultanpur, from Bihar's East Champaran, Harsh Vardhan from Delhi's Chandni and from Gurugram, Congress from Madhya Pradesh's Guna and former Chief Minister from Sonipat. Bengali film hero Deepak Adhikari 'Dev' (Trinamool Congress) will lock horns with the BJP's Bharati Ghosh, a former IPS and once a trusted lieutenant of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, in Ghatal.

The Trinamool had won all the eight seats going voting on Sunday in

The seven-phase and will end on May 19. The vote count will take place on May 23.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 12 2019. 13:10 IST