Business Standard

New South Coast Railway zone created in Andhra Pradesh


IANS Amaravati/New Delhi
Fulfilling one of the commitments made to Andhra Pradesh, the Central government on Wednesday decided to create a new railway zone, named the South Coast Railway (SCoR), with its headquarters at Visakhapatnam.
The new zone will comprise of existing Guntakal, Guntur and Vijayawada divisions, Railways Minister Piyush Goyal announced in New Delhi.
Addressing a press conference, Goyal said: "As per item 8 of schedule 13 (Infrastructure) of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014, Indian Railways was required to examine establishing a new railway zone in the successor State of Andhra Pradesh.
"The matter was examined in detail in consultation with stake holders and it has been decided to go ahead with creation of new zone with headquarter at Visakhapatnam."
The existing Waltair division will be split into two parts - with one part to be incorporated in the new zone and will be merged with the neighbouring Vijaywada division, while the remaining portion will be converted into a new division with headquarter at Rayagada under East Coast Railway (ECoR).
The South Central Railway will comprise of Hyderabad, Secunderabad and Nanded divisions, said an official statement.
A railway zone was one of the commitments made to Andhra Pradesh at the time of its bifurcation in 2014. Under the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, the Railways was required to examine establishing a new railway zone in the successor state of Andhra Pradesh.
The announcement came ahead of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's visit to Visakhapatnam on March 1.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Feb 27 2019 | 11:32 PM IST

Explore News