You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Voting begins in 59 seats in final phase of LS polls

IANS  |  New Delhi 

Voting began on Sunday across 59 constituencies spanning seven states and a Union Territory across north, central and in the final of the mega seven-phase electoral exercise.

A total electorate of over 10.1 crore is eligible to cast their ballots in this phase which covers all remaining seats in the three states -- (13, including the high-profile constituency), (8) and (9) - where polling took place across all seven phases, as well as in (8) and (3) which also saw multi-stage voting.

All the 13 constituencies in Punjab, one in Chandigarh, and four in also figure in this phase.

The 918 candidates in this phase include from Varanasi, who faces and sitting (now in the Congress) in Patna Sahib, and actor-turned-politicians in Gurdaspur (BJP), and and Nusrat Jahan, both contesting for the Trinamool from Jadavpur and Basirhat, respectively.

Also contesting are Union Ministers (Amritsar), Manoj Sinha (Ghazipur), (Arrah) -- all from BJP, Anupriya Patel of (Mirzapur) Harsimrat Kaur from ally Akali Dal in Bathinda and her in Ferozepur, former (Congress) in Patiala, and RJD supremo Lalu Prasad's eldest daughter

In this phase, the BJP will be defending 30 seats - 11 of the 12 it won in in 2014 as it later lost Gorakhpur in a bypoll, seven in Madhya Pradesh, all four in Himachal Pradesh, five in Bihar, one each in Punjab, and Chandigarh.

Allies won one in and the Akali Dal four in Punjab, while then ally had won two in The Janata Dal-United, which is now an ally, won one seat in

The had won five seats -- one in and four in

Four seats were won by the (AAP) in and two by the Mukti Morcha (JMM) in Jharkhand. One seat is currently held by the

In West Bengal, all nine seats were won by the Trinamool

Re-polling is also being held in several booths in parliamentary seats in six states and in Assembly constituencies in two. These seats include Kerala's Kannur and Kasargod, Tamil Nadu's Dharmapuri, Theni, Thiruvallur, Cuddalore and Erode, Haryana's Faridabad, Uttar Pradesh's Azamgarh, West Bengal's Bankura, Andhra Pradesh's Chittoor parliamentary and constituencies and 34 Assembly segments in 10 Odisha districts.

Voting is also being held in bypolls to four Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu, two in and the seat, which fell vacant after death of

The elections started on April 11. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.



(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 19 2019. 07:26 IST